Take Back the Night Annual March – Friday, April 14


Christina Vargas

For nine years, the college has hosted a Take Back The Night event. This national prevention and education program is an opportunity to provide a space for sharing resources and support, and for renewing our college’s commitment to survivors of domestic violence and sexual assault. We are grateful to the hundreds of students, faculty, staff and community members who have supported this event each year. Our march is being sponsored by the Take Back the Night planning committee of faculty, students and staff, along with dedicated community partners and agencies.

We would like to invite you to this year’s march taking place on Friday, April 14th at 7 p.m. at the Michael J. Grant Campus. We are happy to share that this is an in-person event that will happen rain or shine. Please contact the office of Campus Activities at your campus for additional information and to reserve transportation for that day.

Please register in advance for Take Back the Night using this link or scan the QR code that is on the attached flyer: https://forms.office.com/r/ce9ZSfwbY3

Leading up to the event, students, staff, faculty and community members are welcome to participate in our series of engagement projects taking place on all three campuses. These activities include designing butterflies and rocks with words of encouragement and allyship,  as well as designing lanterns that are placed throughout the route of the walk. Each of our partners also share important information on their services and how we can support survivors of sexual and intimate partner violence.

In addition, students, faculty, staff, and community members are encouraged to like and follow our Facebook page: Take Back the Night – Suffolk County Community College (https://www.facebook.com/groups/244478246594448) as well as the Instagram page – @takebackthenightsccc and post messages of empowerment to survivors with the hashtag #sccctbtn.

If you have any questions, please feel free to reach out to the chair of the planning committee, Danielle DiMauro-Brooks at [email protected].  Thank you in advance for providing support to this important college-wide tradition.